List of High Courts in India as of 2023 – Updated

List of High Courts in India as of 2023 – Updated: The Indian judiciary system consists of a hierarchy of courts, with High Courts being the second highest courts in the country after the Supreme Court. There are currently 25 High Courts in India, with each court having jurisdiction over a specific territorial area.

This list provides information on the 25 High Courts in India as of 2023, including their year of establishment, territorial jurisdiction, and seat. Some of these High Courts, such as the Allahabad High Court and the Calcutta High Court, date back to the British colonial era, while others were established after India’s independence.

This updated list of High Courts in India as of 2023 serves as a useful reference for lawyers, law students, and anyone interested in the Indian judiciary system.

List of High Courts in India as of 2023 - Updated

List of High Courts in India as of 2023 – Updated

High Court is the ‘Highest Judicial Court’ in an Indian State and all other Courts of the State work under it. As per the Indian constitution, Articles 214-231 deals with the provisions of the High Courts in India. Every High Court in India shall consist of a Chief Justice and such other judges appointed by the President of India. At present, there are 25 High Courts in the different Indian States and Union Territories. 

Total High Courts in India :

At present, there are 25 High Courts in the different Indian States and Union Territories with the year of establishment has been given below:

List of High Courts in India as of 2023 – Updated

here’s a List of High Courts in India 2023:

NameYearTerritorial JurisdictionSeat
Andhra Pradesh High Court1954Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Allahabad High Court1866Uttar PradeshPrayagraj
Bombay High Court1862Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and DiuMumbai
Calcutta High Court1862West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar IslandsKolkata
Chhattisgarh High Court2000ChhattisgarhBilaspur
Delhi High Court1966National Capital Territory of DelhiNew Delhi
Gauhati High Court1948Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Arunachal PradeshGuwahati
Gujarat High Court1960GujaratAhmedabad
Himachal Pradesh High Court1971Himachal PradeshShimla
Jammu and Kashmir High Court1928Jammu and KashmirJammu and Srinagar (summer)
Jharkhand High Court2000JharkhandRanchi
Karnataka High Court1884KarnatakaBengaluru
Kerala High Court1956Kerala and LakshadweepKochi
Madhya Pradesh High Court1936Madhya PradeshJabalpur
Madras High Court1862Tamil Nadu, PuducherryChennai
Manipur High Court2013ManipurImphal
Meghalaya High Court2013MeghalayaShillong
Orissa High Court1948OdishaCuttack
Patna High Court1916Bihar and JharkhandPatna
Punjab and Haryana High Court1947Punjab, Haryana, and ChandigarhChandigarh
Rajasthan High Court1949RajasthanJodhpur
Sikkim High Court1975SikkimGangtok
Telangana High Court2019TelanganaHyderabad
Tripura High Court2013TripuraAgartala
Uttarakhand High Court2000UttarakhandNainital
High Court for the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands1955Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
High Court of Punjab and Haryana at Chandigarh1966Punjab, Haryana, and ChandigarhChandigarh
High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad2019Andhra Pradesh and TelanganaHyderabad

Appointment of the Judges

Every Judge of the Supreme Court shall be appointed by the President with the consultation of the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and the Governor of the State.

Also Check:  

Qualifications for the Judges

  • In order to be a judge in Hgh court, candidates should be a citizen of India.
  • Candidate must have been an advocate in one or more High Courts in India or a judge for at least 10 years in subordinate courts in India.

Tenure of a Judge

  • Originally the age of the retirement of the judges of the High Courts was fixed at 60 but it was raised to 62 in 1963 according to the 15th amendment of the Constitution.

Removal of the Judges

  • A judge may leave his office by resigning. The judge needs to send the letter of resignation to the President.
  • His office would be considered to have been vacated if he is appointed as a judge of the Supreme Court or is transferred to some other High Court. 
  • The judge of a High Court can also be removed from its position by the judge of the Supreme Court. The judge of High Court can be removed by the President, if the Parliament passes a motion against the judge by an absolute majority of the members present and voting, both the Houses sitting separately.

Salary of High Court Judge

  • The Chief Justice of India will now get a monthly salary of Rs 2.80 lakh, up from the present Rs one lakh. Similarly, judges of the Supreme Court and chief justices of high courts will draw a monthly salary of Rs 2.50 lakh, up from the current Rs 90,000, according to the Act notified by the law ministry.

High Courts in India FAQs

Which High Courts are recently added in India?

The newest High Courts are the Telangana Court and Andhra Pradesh High Court, both established in the year 2019. In every High Court, there is a Chief Justice and many other judges whose number is defined by the President of India.

Which is the 25 new High Court in India?

Which is the 25th High Court in India? The 25th high court of India is the High court of Andhra Pradesh. It is located in Amravati, the capital city of Andhra Pradesh.5 days ago

Which is the biggest High Court in India?

Ans. Allahabad High Court is one biggest High Court in India.

How many high courts are there in India 2023?

Ans. There are 25 High Courts in India now.

So this was complete list of High Courts in India 2023. This is very important for the different competitive exams. Hence utmost care must be taken while going through this list.

Add Comment